Fasting: Let us desludge and depudge

water-fasting Water-Fast-Week-300x155I woke up at 3 something this morning just feeling fat. I lay in bed and was bloated, fat and ugly. Because I am. I weighed myself last week, and again a few days ago. I’m a sloth; a lard ass. A lazy food stuffing piggy. The number was HIGH. Are you kidding me? I haven’t been this heavy since I was pregnant. And after having a baby I was down to 115.

I know my problem. I like food. This is how it goes: Every day I decide this is the day that I will start my diet, and this is the big day! I start out awesome – I bring a liter and a half of water to work (in an empty Lipton Green Tea bottle) and am right with the world. In about a ½ hour or so I decide that water bites, and I am hoofing it across the street to the Barton Store to fill up my Super Big Gulp cup. I know – trashy!

At that point I feel that I’ve ruined my chance to fast for health, so I spend the rest of the day eating as if it is the last day ever for me to eat food. I open the fridge and bite into a cheese chunk and gain instant satisfaction; or drive thru McDonalds and order about 10 bucks of McFood from the dollar menu, I am so embarrassing. Even this keyboard is embarrassed I am typing on it. The next day begins a new day, and it’s Groundhog day, fatty in the house!

I did a 12-day water fast about a year ago. I had no per day goals in mind, I wanted to loss the fat and feel more energy. Reason number two was to break my nasty soda habit – my cup runneth over for it. So I fasted and continue to fast from time to time for a couple reasons. Weight loss is number one, I want to depudge and desludge. The second is to be an EcoWarrior and to do good things for the planet as I do something good for my body. c011f9e3ab93be60b477ee0de98393c7

We return from a day at the Philip Foster Farm in Eagle Creek, Oregon. Philip Foster bought a 640-acre land-claim in Eagle Creek in 1847, which he developed for the arrival of emigrants traveling the Barlow Road, the “last leg” overland segment of the Oregon Trail. He cleared land, planted crops and orchards, built a house and a store and constructed a lumber mill and gristmill. The Foster place was  a welcome sight for pioneers struggling over the shoulder of Mt. Hood after a 2,000-mile journey from Missouri. We went today to press cider with our own apples. I  love this pioneer community and its quality-of-life sustainability. Taking apples from the trees and squeezing cider on the antique hand press is a fabulous demonstration of sustainability. And the fast? Day One has been easy, but that’s how it goes. Your body has so much sustenance left over from the day before, it’s not too bad.

Leave a Reply

